Dragonheart Movies In order [What Order Are The Dragonheart Films]

Dragonheart film series is one of the popular fantasy action-adventure film series from the ’90s based on a friendship between a dragon and a knight. Here is the list of all Dragonheart movies in order of chronological.

  1. Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse (2015)
  2. Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire (2017)
  3. Dragonheart: Vengeance (2020)
  4. Dragonheart (1996)
  5. Dragonheart: A New Beginning (2000)
collection of stills from all Dragonheart films

About Dragonheart Movie Series

Patrick Reed Johnson, along with Charles Edward Pogue, submitted the script for Dragonheart to Universal Picture. He received a positive response from the studio, and the production of the Dragonheart film started, and the film was released in 1996.

The film proved to be a massive hit at the box office and received positive reviews from critics for light humour and CIG. The film quickly picked up a strong following and led to a series of direct-to-video movies.

Dragonheart Movies In order: What Order Do The Dragonheart Movies Go In?

Dragonheart series is a fantastic fantasy franchise based on the story of a knight who befriends a dragon after the dragon shares his heart to protect his life.

How Many Dragonheart Movies Are There?

To date, there are five Dragonheart films, one featured and four direct-to-video films that were produced between 1996 and 2020. 

Do You Need To Watch Dragonheart Movies In Order?

Dragonheart movies are connected and are based on a similar timeline. Dragonheart movies can be watched and enjoyed as standalone. Still, all Dragonheart films follow a linear timeline and adequately understand the story, and it is important to watch them in order.

What Order Do The Dragonheart Movies Go In?

Dragonheart movies have a complex story and involve Jumps and references to previous plots. Hence watching Dragonheart films in chronological order proves to be more fun. Here is the list of Dragonheart movies in chronological order

Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse (2015)

  • Director: Colin Teague
  • Writers: Matthew Feitshans, Patrick Read Johnson
  • Stars: Julian Morris, Tamzin Merchant, Jassa Ahluwalia
  • Runtime: 1h 38min

Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire (2017)

  • Director: Patrik Syversen
  • Writers: Patrick Read Johnson Charles Edward Pogue
  • Stars: Patrick Stewart, Tom Rhys Harries, Jessamine-Bliss Bell
  • Runtime: 1h 38min

Dragonheart: Vengeance (2020)

  • Director: Ivan Silvestrini
  • Writers: Matthew Feitshans, Patrick Read Johnson
  • Stars: Helena Bonham Carter, Joseph Millson, Jack Kane
  • Runtime: 1h 37min

Dragonheart (1996)

  • Director: Rob Cohen
  • Writers: Patrick Read Johnson, Charles Edward Pogue
  • Stars: Dennis Quaid, Sean Connery, Dina Meyer
  • Runtime: 1h 43min

Dragonheart: A New Beginning (2000)

  • Director: Doug Lefler
  • Writers: Patrick Read Johnson, Charles Edward Pogue
  • Stars: Christopher Masterson, Harry Van Gorkum, Rona Figueroa
  • Runtime: 1h 24min
A still from Dragonheart 3 | credit goes to Universal Pictures

Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse (2015)

After foreseeing a “falling star” from the constellation Draco, Brude, a member of the druid circle starts to all the other Druids and leads their clan for a war against southern kingdoms over Hadrian’s Wall. While all the druids were getting killed, a guy named Lorne manages to escape.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the wall, a group of squires undergoes their final test to be knights. Gareth proves that he is the best fighter but fails to collect enough money from the peasants.

A still from Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire | credit goes to Universal Pictures

Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire (2017)

In the lands of King Gareth, a woman dies after giving birth to two infants who has peculiar patches on their body. Despite their unusual skin, their father, Walter, takes care of them.

After twenty years of the incident, King Gareth dies, but Drago survives. Initially, Drago thinks that it is strange because he shares his heart with Gareth but quickly learns he also shares his heart with Edric, one of the two twins born with enhanced power.

A still from Dragonheart: Vengeance | credit goes to Universal Pictures

Dragonheart: Vengeance (2020)

After the events in the previous film, the seven dragons, who were raised by Drago and Gareth, separate and fly to different places, Siveth, a female and one of the seven dragons, travelled to Wallachia.

King Razvan welcomes siveth to his kingdom but expels her after she refuses to share her heart when the king gets wounded in battle. Thirty years after the incident, a group of raiders, Bear, the Wolf, the Snake, and the Scorpion, starts to kill people.

A still from Dragonheart | credit goes to Universal Pictures

Dragonheart (1996)

Bowen, an English Knight, trains Saxons prince Einon to make him a better king than King Freyne. While trying to control a rebellion, King Freyne dies, and a young girl, Kara, unknowingly wounds prince Einon.

To protect Einon’s life, Queen Aislinn takes him to a dragon who replaces Einon’s wounded heart with half of his own heart and declares that Einon will be a successful king who will rule with justice and virtue.

Einon starts to head over Saxon but proves to be more aggressive and oppressive than his father. Bowen blames the Dragon for all this and swears to kill the Dragon.

A still from Dragonheart: A New Beginning | credit goes to Universal Pictures

Dragonheart: A New Beginning (2000)

The movie starts with a guy explaining his story about predicting “world’s destruction due to a Dragon heart.” It explains that Bowen, an English Knight, killed all Dragons but before his death gave a Dragon’s Egg to gilbert’s monastery.

Abbott and Peter take the pledge to take care of the Egg always. Master Kown meets Abbott and Peter and explains to both of them about the upcoming threat to the world. Meanwhile, Geoff, a small worker in the monastery, practices warrior skills to a warrior someday.

Dragonheart Movies In Release Order

Besides the chronological order, you can also watch Dragonheart films in release order. Here is the list of all Dragonheart movies in order of release.

  • Dragonheart (1996)
  • Dragonheart: A New Beginning (2000)
  • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse (2015)
  • Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire (2017)
  • Dragonheart: Vengeance (2020)

Will there be a 6th Dragonheart movie?

The sixth installment in the Dragonheart franchise is announced and is currently under production. The script is written by Matthew Feitshans and will be a direct-to-video prequel of the 1996 film.

Which Dragonheart Movie Is The Best?

Dragonheart film ruled the ’90s with great action and adventure scenes, but out of all five popular Dragonheart’s, which film is the best? Here is the list of all Dragonheart films ranked from worst to best based on audience ratings on IMDb.

Dragonheart FilmsIMDb Ratings
Dragonheart: A New Beginning  4.6/10
Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer’s Curse5.1/10
Dragonheart Vengeance5.3/10
Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire5.3/1o
DragonHeart 6.5/10

Other Popular Adventure Franchise to Binge Watch


The first Dragonheart film was produced on a budget of 58 million and grossed 115 million worldwide. the film was one of the initial films that were made using CGI. after the success, the film was turned into a complete franchise with four more films, toy and video games.

The best way to watch Dragonheart film is to watch it in order, either in release or in chronological order. If you have any other question, then do let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *