Oceans Movies In Order [Correct Order To Watch Oceans Movies]

Oceans series is an American heist films franchise that tells the tale of Danny Oceans, a mastermind thief who targets powerful Casinos of Las Vegas for his Heist. Here is the list of all Oceans movies in order of release.

  • Ocean’s Eleven (1960)
  • Ocean’s Eleven (2001)
  • Ocean’s Twelve (2004)
  • Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)
  • Ocean’s 8 (2018)
list of all oceans movies in order of release

About Oceans Movie Series

There is a total of five oceans movies, and the first ocean movie was released in 1960, starring Frank Sinatra in the role of Danny Ocean. After forty years, Warner Bros. decided to make a remake but then the movie released in 2001 starring George Clooney with a difference in Plot.

The Ocean’s Eleven (2001) became a huge hit and made way for two direct sequels and a spin-off movie. Ocean Movie tells the tale of Danny Ocean, a masterclass Thief, and his various heists. All the Oceans movies are filled with action and Suspense. If you are one of those who love to watch Movies filled with Suspense, then the Oceans series is a perfect recommendation.

Oceans Movies In Order: What Is The Order To Watch Oceans Movies?

Are Oceans Movies Connected?

The first movie, Ocean’s Eleven¬†(1960), and the last spin-off movie have independent plots but the three main Oceans movies are connected with each other and pick the story from the end of the previous film. Besides the movies involves characters and references from the events in the previous films that will not make any sense if you haven’t watched previous films

Do You Need To Watch Oceans Movies In Order?

The first Ocean’s Eleven (1960) movie and the last spin-off movie can be watched as standalone. The rest Three movies are connected with each other and to perfectly understand the story, characters, and plot this is important to watch Oceans movies in order.

What Order Do You Watch The Ocean’s Movies?

Oceans series doesn’t have any jumps or prequels, hence the correct watch order of Ocean films is very simple, here is the list of all oceans movies in order of release aka, the correct order to watch the Ocean films.

Ocean’s Eleven (1960)

  • Director: Lewis Milestone
  • Stars: Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr.
  • Writers: Harry Brown, Charles Lederer
  • Runtime: 2h 7min

Ocean’s Eleven (2001)

  • Director: Steven Soderbergh
  • Stars: George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts
  • Writers: George Clayton Johnson, Jack Golden Russell
  • Runtime: 1h 58min

Ocean’s Twelve (2004)

  • Director: Steven Soderbergh
  • Stars: George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts
  • Writers: George Nolfi, George Clayton Johnson
  • Runtime: 2h 5min

Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)

  • Director: Steven Soderbergh
  • Stars: George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon
  • Writers: Brian Koppelman, David Levien
  • Runtime: 2h 2omin

Ocean’s Eight (2018)

  • Director: Gary Ross
  • Stars: Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway
  • Writers: Gary Ross, Olivia Milch
  • Runtime: 1h 50min
Ocean's Eleven (1960) first movie in the list of all oceans movies in order of release

Ocean’s Eleven (1960)

World War II veterans Danny Ocean and Jimmy recruit nine comrades from their units in 82nd Airborne and all eleven of them plan the biggest heist to rob five casinos in Las Vegas on New Year eve. Everything goes according to the plan but the gang’s electrician Tony Bergdorf drops dead of a heart attack in the middle of the Strip.

The robbery gets successfully conducted, but the problems for Danny raises when Reformed mobster Duke Santos quickly learns about who is behind all this and demands half of their take.

Ocean's Eleven (2001) second movie in the list of all oceans movies in order of release

Ocean’s Eleven (2001)

After release from jail, Danny goes to California to meet his partner in crime Rusty, and then Rusty and Danny further go to Las Vegas to meet Reuben. Together three of them make a plan to rob the three biggest casinos in Las Vegas.

Danny, Rusty, and Reuben hire eight criminal Specialized in various techniques they require and makes their team of eleven rob all the money from The Bellagio. While planning, Danny learns that his ex-wife, Tess is now with Terry Benedict( the owner of the Bellagio).

Ocean's Twelve (2004) third movie in the list of all oceans movies in order of release

Ocean’s Twelve (2004)

Terry Benedict learns about all the even members who robbed The Bellagio and demands his money back with interest, To repay the money, the group plans another heist in Europe. They learn about the location of the first stock certificate ever and but quickly finds that the document is already stolen by Night Fox.

Danny discovers that Francois Toulour is Night Fox and in the meeting, Toulour challenges Danny to steal Coronation Egg and if they succeed he will pay all the debt. Danny with his team starts to plan for another Heist.

Ocean's Thirteen (2007) fourth movie in the list of all oceans movies in order of release

Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)

Willy Bank fools, Reuben and takes his sign on the stake ownership rights of the new casino they where building together because of which Reuben is in Critical condition. In retribution, Danny teams up with his partners and crime and makes a plan for retribution.

On the opening night of the hotel, they have to prevent Brank from winning the prestigious five-diamond award and to deteriorate the slot machine. further ocean also partners with Benedict, who was also once fooled by Bank.

Ocean's 8 (2018) fifth movie in the list of all oceans movies in order of release

Ocean’s 8 (2018)

After eight years in prison, Debbie Ocean meets Lou and convinces for a heist. Debbie plans to steal a neckless worth $150m for which she makes a team of eight criminals, specialized in various skills. Rose manages to get hired by Daphne( a Model) and takes pictures of Neckless to make a copy of it.

In a function in the New York city art gallery, Debbie and team successfully executes the plan, Further it is revealed that Daphne was also in the team of Debbie.

Is Ocean’s 11 the first one?

Yes! the Ocean’s eleven released in 2001 is the first installment in the oceans franchise, the movie is remake of the movie released in 1960 of the same name.

Do I need to watch Ocean’s 11 before 12?

Yes! Ocean’s 12 is a direct sequel of Ocean’s 11 and continues the story of Ocean and his crime partners, to understand the characters, their motives and plot of the movie, this is important to watch Ocean’s 11 first before you watch Ocean’s 12.

How is ocean’s 8 related to ocean’s 11?

According to Sandra Bullock (Debbie Ocean), Ocean’s 8 is not a spin-off movie but is a parallel story of another family member of the Ocean family. Debbie is the sister of Danny and is born and raised in the same family. The movie explores the story of Debbie after she is released from jail.

Oceans Movies Ranked From Worst To Best

Considered one of the popular heist franchises of Hollywood, Oceans movies are filled with amazing suspense and thrill. Oceans movies are filled with Charm and Style that will make you fall in love with the actors and series. In fact, Oceans movies are behind making the Heist Genre popular.

But out of all the five Oceans movies which one is most loved by an audience? Here I have ranked all Oceans movies from worst to best based on Audience ratings on IMDb.

Oceans MoviesRatings on IMDb
Ocean’s Twelve (2004)6.5/10
Ocean’s Eleven (1960)6.6/10
Ocean’s Eight (2018)6.8/10
Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)6.9/10
Ocean’s Eleven (2001)7.7/10

Other Popular Action Franchises to Binge Watch


first time it was in 1960 people saw the Danny Ocean played by George Clooney. after forty years, Warner Bros came with a remake movie on Danny Ocean that exploded on Box Office.