Skip to content

Evil Dead Movies In Order: What order do the Evil Dead movies go in?

Evil dead is one of the most popular Classic Cult series based on “The Book of Dead.” The book awakens the Demon when somebody reads it aloud. There are five Evil Dead movies but, In what order do the Evil Dead movies go in?

The Evil Dead movies in order

  1. The Evil Dead (1981)
  2. Evil Dead II (1987)
  3. Army of Darkness (1992)
  4. Evil Dead (2013)
  5. Evil Dead Rise (TBA)

About Evil Dead Movie Series

The Evil Dead series is one of the most popular horror Franchises that tells the story of “Necronomicon, ” a book that can awaken demons. The series follows the character Ash Williams who fights with the monsters.

The Evil Dead series is known to be some of the scariest scenes with a fantastic story, and that might be the series why the Evil Dead series is an all-time favorite movie.

The series has four films, and the fifth is under production. Here in this article, we have a complete guide on how to watch evil dead movies.

Evil Dead Movies in Order: What order do the Evil Dead movies go in?

The first three movies in the Evil dead series are connected in story, plot, and characters. Some Fans think that the second movie is a remake of the first but is not! It starts at the end of the first movie.

Further, the story continues with the third movie. Every movie in the series has a recap of the previous film, making it easy to watch as a standalone. The fourth movie is a Standalone movie based on a similar plot. The problem with the Evil dead series is that it has very inconsistent storytelling and characterization.

In What Order Should I Watch Evil Dead Movies?

There are two ways to watch the evil dead series, Either watch them in release order or watch them as standalone. The best way to watch the Evil dead series is to follow the release order so that you can follow up with the story and the character.

Here is the list of All Evil Dead movies in order of release

 The Evil Dead (1981)

  • Director: Sam Raimi 
  • Stars: Bruce Campbell, Ellen Sandweiss, Richard DeManincor, Betsy Baker
  • Written By: Sam Raimi
  • Runtime: 85 minutes

2. Evil Dead II (1987)

  • Stars: Bruce Campbell, Sarah Berry, Dan Hicks, Kassie Wesley DePaiva
  • Directed By: Sam Raimi
  • Written By: Sam Raimi, Scott Spiegel
  • Runtime: 84 minutes

3. Army of Darkness (1992)

  • Director: Sam Raimi 
  • Stars: Bruce Campbell, Embeth Davidtz, Marcus Gilbert, Ian Abercrombie
  • Written By: Sam Raimi, Ivan Raimi
  • Runtime: 81 minutes

4. Evil Dead (2013)

  • Director: Fede Alvarez 
  • Stars: Jane Levy, Shiloh Fernandez, Jessica Lucas, Lou Taylor Pucci
  • Written By: Diablo Cody, Fede Alvarez, Rodo Sayagues
  • Runtime: 91 minutes
Edited Still from Evil Dead Movie. it is the first movie on the list of all the evil dead movies in order of release
Edited Still from Evil Dead Movie | All Credit goes to New Line Cinema

The Evil Dead

This Movie starts with five friends( Scott, Linda, Ash, Cheryl, and Shelly) who plan to spend their summer vacations in a cabin in the woods. When the five of them start to live in the cottage, they begin to experience unusual activities, later realize that Scott is fooling the other four friends.

While exploring the cottage, Scott and Ash go downstairs, where they find a book named “Naturom Demento”( The Book of the Dead ) and start to read it aloud. It awakes deadly demons in the Jungle they are living. Soon, Demons begin to kill every one of them, one by one.

 Edited Still from Evil Dead 2 Movie. it is the first movie on the list of all the evil dead movies in order of release
Edited Still from Evil Dead Movie | All Credit goes to New Line Cinema

The Evil Dead 2

The Evil Dead 2 is the second movie in the series but is a remake of the first movie, Ash with his girlfriend, who decides to spend some time alone in a cottage, leading them to an ancient cottage in the middle of the jungle.

Ash finds a Tape in the downstairs of the cottage. In curiosity, he plays the Tape, and suddenly Linda starts to scream. When Ash goes to her room, he finds that Linda is not there and the window’s glass is broken. The Tape tells the story of “The Book of the Dead” and awakened demons who have possessed Linda.

Edited Still from Army of Darkness. it is the first movie on the list of all the evil dead movies in order of release
Edited Still from Army of Darkness | All Credit goes to New Line Cinema

Army of Darkness

The Army of Darkness is a direct continuation of the second movie. With the portal opened by Annie, Ash gets transported to 1300 A.D. Ash gets captured by soldiers of Lord Arthur. Ash fights with demons and proves himself that he is the only one who can kill all the monsters.

Now the only way for Ash to win over demons and get back to his time is to retrieve the Necronomicon. Guided by Wiseman, Ash sets his Adventure to find Necronomicon and kill all the monsters.

Edited Still from Evil Dead. it is the first movie on the list of all the evil dead movies in order of release
Edited Still from Evil Dead Movie | All Credit goes to New Line Cinema

Evil Dead (2013)

This movie is the fourth installment in the series. David meets her sister Mia with Natalie after a long time. Mia is a drug addict, and David takes her to their old house where his friend Eric discovers an old book.

Eric starts to read the book aloud, and that awakens a demon spirit. The spirit tries to trouble Mia, and when she tries to escape, the spirit possesses Mia and starts to kill everyone. Eric and David team up to find the book and fight with the demons.

Do you need to watch Evil Dead in order?

The Evil Dead series has four movies based on the “The Book of Dead” All the movies have their own story but has a continuation in terms of plot and the main character Ash Williams. The second and third movies are connected in terms of story

Complete Evil Dead Franchise

Besides four main movies in the Evil Dead series, a short film was released in 1978 before the series started. A Television series with three seasons were produced with Ash Williams in the lead and were premiered on StarzHere is a list of All Evil dead short films, movies, and television series in release order.

  • Within the Woods (1978) – Short film
  • The Evil Dead (1981) – Movie
  • Evil Dead II (1987) – Movie
  • Army of Darkness (1992) – Movie
  • Evil Dead (2013) – Movie
  • Ash vs Evil Dead(2015-2018)- Television series
  • Evil Dead Rise (TBA)

Can you watch Ash vs Evil Dead without seeing the movies?

Ash and Evil Dead series is based on the Plot of Evil Dead movies and the main character of Ash Williams. This is important to watch Evil Dead movies before watching the series because the series first acknowledges what happened in the film and is a sequel to the evil dead movies.

Which Part of Evil Dead Movies in Best?

Filled with fantastic horror and killing scenes, Evil dead movies are some of the best horror movies out there. Evil Dead movies are the perfect option if you are looking for a horror movie for Saturday night because you can also watch them as standalone.

But out of four Evil-Dead movies, which part of Evil Dead movies is best? Well, here I have ranked all Evil Dead movies from worst to best based on IMDb ratings.

Evil Dead MoviesRatings on IMDb
Evil Dead6.5/10
Army of Darkness7.5/10
Evil Dead II 7.5/10
The Evil Dead7.8/10


Despite having inconsistent storytelling, the Evil dead series is one of the most popular Classic cult horror series worldwide. The Franchise has developed four different movies and a television series.

Here we have discussed the best order in which you should watch the evil dead series. if you have anything to add or any quarries, do let me know in the comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *